The effect of CHA on mez/charm/lull

Discussion in 'Time Locked Progression Servers' started by Dersk, Jun 19, 2015.

1. Dersk Elder

The benefits of charisma on various bard songs and enchanter spells has been thrown around since before I started playing. But, what I'm wanting is any tests people may have done on the benefit of charisma, rather than just taking "common knowledge" as is.

I've searched for any sort of tests or parses for resist rates or charm durations and can't seem to find any. I'm sure there are multiple developer statements saying something has some effect, but that's not what I'm interested in.

Due to a lack of testing to look through, I did a quick (small) test of my own. I took a level 4 enchanter with no buffs, AAs, or other confounding factors to mention and repeatedly mezzed a level 9 rotting initate 100 times at 70 CHA. I deliberately chose a red con as a low resist rate wouldn't show me much. 49 resists, which I thought was a perfect start for comparison. I tossed the character some CHA gear and a CHA buff to get to 185, and cast another 100 mezzes on the same mob (never killed it, never zoned, exactly same mob). 50 resists out of 100.

Now, I realize 100 attempts is insufficient to identify how much of an effect CHA would have, but it seems to be enough to get a good idea *if* CHA has an effect on resist rates.

So I guess I'm here to ask for two things.

1) Where can I find anyone testing resist rates at different CHA amounts for mez, charm, or lull?

2) How many attempts at mez would I need for a "statistically significant" difference to be identified?

Because, right now, I have absolutely no proof that CHA does anything other than old wives tales that are as reliable as anti-camp radius, and that guy in the warrior channel that says offhand delay doesn't matter.

Edit: I'm posting this here rather than class forums as it's rather irrelevant on non-TLP servers due to the sort of gear commonly available there.
  2. Elkay Augur