Next 14 years of EQ1

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Skizzoo, Jan 27, 2015.

1. Skizzoo Journeyman

Hi. I've been playing EQ1 for like a year (yeah I'm a noob and not really a veteran). Personally I enjoy the game more than other new MMO's. Playerbase is still strong, but I was wondering will there still be EQ1 in 14 years? Will we get 30th Anniversary? What is your opinion?

Soon I'm going to become Gold (Silver at the moment) and create a new toon to document my journey from level 1 till max with the new character, which I never done in any MMO, even with my current toon (60 lvl Necro Iksar) :(
  2. FcsevenXIII Augur

SOE has closed so many of its MMOs and had so many layoffs in the past five years I highly doubt EQ will last 2 years let alone 14.
  3. Naugrin Augur

I don't know if it will last 14 more years but I would be shocked if it isn't around for 5 more atleast.
  4. Serriah_Test Augur

TBH, I'd be surprised if they make another expansion. I was a little shocked they made TDS with their tiny team.

If they wanted to keep the game thriving, setting some interns loose on it to make a few servers into a group-friendly version of EQ (instance old raids and tune them to be done by a 6 player group) they could keep the servers running for years and years while people made new characters without fear of "falling behind".

I believe an intern made the SK epic ornament quest...
    Best quest in the whole game. Tells the story of Lhranc and makes it feel epic.
    Oh... and... Old Freeport for the win :)
  5. Naugrin Augur

iirc dzarn did the hot breastplates when he was an intern and most of the epic request stuff....soe showed wisdom and hired him for good and he finished those as he could.
    Yinla and Lisandra like this.
  6. Dzarn Developer

As a slight correction, Nendiun was the intern designer that created the breastplate effects during the Underfoot expansion. I was a QA intern at that point in time.