Why, oh Why SOE?

Discussion in 'Time Locked Progression Servers' started by sigalph760, Jun 3, 2014.

1. sigalph760 Journeyman

I'm 35 years old. I started playing EQ close to launch, back in the day when I was a young adult. I loved every minute of it. I couldn't get enough. I'll admit, I probably played it more than I should have. But, life happened. I lost a lot of free time. I couldn't keep up with the curve and the rate of expansions. I fell behind. I faded out. This is probably the same story for thousands if not tens of thousands of people. I'm sure this will go down as another "make another progression server" post. And rightfully so. It is. But indulge me for a minute.

My first character was a wood elf ranger. I still remember trying to survive on orc hill in gfay. I remember finally working my way into crushbone and seeing in bold red text "TRAIN TO ZONE". I would run for my life and hope I could out run the guy next to me just to make it to that zone line. I remember camping the outer wall in unrest until I could get a group camping inside the house. I killed tons of aviaks in south karana. I remember that first trip into lower guk. That first fire giant kill. Seeing a dragon in Lord Nagafen. I could go on and on. Those days seem like yesterday. Yet, it was long ago.

I understand, once done is done. Reliving the past is still the past. But it was a damn good past and I'm sure a lot of people in my same situation wouldn't mind paying a subscription to live it once more. Actually, I wouldn't be shocked at all if they would pay a subscription to relive it many times more.

The developers have worked hard to create a ton of expansions. I get that. I doubt the current developers appreciate old school players wanting to play through ancient content to them. If I was a developer, I probably wouldn't understand why people would want to play through content that was made 15 years ago and not play what they just worked hard to launch.