Rise in in-game scams?

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Tegila, Aug 12, 2013.

1. Tegila Augur

has anyone noticed this? all the platsellers etc get SPAM'd automaticly fine but people are now enacting scams with kronos and gamecards and whatnot. have never in my years been scammed or known anyone who has so odd to see this popping up. idk if from introduction of kronos or free2play model or mass exodus from WoW and we're getting their scammers or waht. others notice this happening?
  2. Rogue Augur

Just wondering, how could you get scammed in a Krono transaction? Its an in-game item being bought or traded for other in-game items or plat
  3. Tobynn Augur

Never been scammed, and never even know anyone that has been scammed, yet reports a rise in scam activity. Okies.
    Lighteningrod, Ishtass and gnomeboss like this.
  4. Starla Elder

I am curious to know how one would get scammed from a in game item.
  5. Jonny Panic Augur

As a fraud analyst, I have to admit that I'm surprised this isn't a more prominent problem. I know somebody got scammed this evening out of a Krono for advertised game cards... a deal was worked out, two Krono for three $15 Wal-Mart GCs, one Krono up front but apparently as soon as the first Krono was paid the seller camped. It's suspected that the "seller" was trying to take advantage of the fact that SOE's petition system has been spotty for days.

This is a little bit "caveat emptor", but still advertises a weakness of the in-game market that isn't covered by Krono... the popularity of Game Cards for purposes other than membership. This is a long-standing vulnerability in the in-game market; SOE has already implicitly verified the cash value of plat by introducing the Krono, which inversely implies a plat value for Game Cards.