What made PvP great Vs. What we have now

Discussion in 'Battle of the Legends (PvP)' started by That1DarkKnight, Dec 21, 2018.

1. That1DarkKnight Active Player

I've never really been on the forums that much or have given my opinion on things in this game even when I've felt deep about them. So why would I start now?

Well, I've noticed how much things have changed in the game for a long time now, specifically 2 years ever since Stats Revamp launched. But I'm just saying this now because I honestly don't know how long it will be before my opinions and views will be completely pointless, maybe it's not even that relevant now.

What makes me so certain that I know what I'm talking about? Well it's just a video game in the end so qualification becomes a very subjective matter, but I've had about 4 years of experience in this game. I'd say I've PvPed enough since 2014 when I started this game, all the way past stats revamp. I did mostly arena up to a certain point before focusing more on legends, and I've fought against quite a diverse and vast range of players. Not going to name anyone in particular because that's not what this thread is about. But here's what is about:

What always made PvP great (from my perspective):

• The Counter-Reward System: Countering is what made PvP challenging, and it is the driving core behind this game's combat mechanic. Choosing one of several skills from your power type into your loadout? That's nothing new. The countering system in DC is well balanced because of it's reward and punishment system. Counter immunity prevented you from taking other incoming damage as well as preventing your opponent from using a sudden unpredictable breakout and ruining your opportunity to deal burst damage while they are down.