Tesla Ball vs. Shockwave

Discussion in 'War Room (Powers, Artifacts, & Builds)' started by LeagueOfV, Aug 11, 2015.

1. LeagueOfV Dedicated Player

The below post inspired me to finally try out Tesla Ball on the sparring targets:
    Unless I'm doing something wrong, you have to give up 1 of the iconic powers to get TB, VB, and electrocute. I think conventional wisdom says crit chance over crit damage.

I found the TB rotation was able to hit over 30k every once in a while and average over 27k. I'm not a clipping expert, but the best I could do with shockwave was to get around 29k as a high and average around 24k. I haven't tried TB in a real raid, but the additional 10-15% in damage seems encouraging. With practice I might be able to push the average closer to 30k.

Has anyone else tried out TB vs. SW in a real raid to compare the results? I guess my only concern is losing the iconic 10% crit damage. Thanks.
    • Like x 1
  2. jamesbopp43 Committed Player

Give me time, and I'll look over the effects of crits for you. I'm at work, but I'm curious myself. So I'll try to get back to you ASAP

Edit:, I don't know anything about electricity, so can you tell me your rotation so I have an idea of what to compare? Also, if you want a quick answer, test the two rotations so you can see what your dps is over time.
    • Like x 1
  3. Delta795 New Player

I just removed Circuit Breaker in favor of Tesla Ball, and have seen my numbers go up quite noticeably.
    I haven't saved the reulta on parser but I can try to do that later tonight.

On a side note you are correct you only get 1 iconic, but I went for the 10% and not the 3%.
    My DPS toon is 128 with only 137 but I can try to record this if you want .
    • Like x 1
  4. LeagueOfV Dedicated Player

Some electric abbreviations:
    EG - electrogenisis
    AL - arc lightning
    EL - electrocute
    VB - volatic bolt
    W - wired
    TB - Tesla Ball