[PC] The Arbitrary 30 FPS Lock Needs to End

Discussion in 'Gotham City (General Gameplay)' started by Thaumasurge, May 16, 2015.

1. Thaumasurge New Player

I have played DCUO on and off since the transition to Free-to-Play a few years ago. During that time, something had always bothered me as a PC Gamer. I could forgive the lack of proper Anti-aliasing options as you could easily force them (and the game definitely looks much better because of that), but something that I simply would not relent from, was the arbitrary lock to 30 FPS.

Presumably since the game's original beta and assuredly since I started playing at F2P relaunch, the Vertical Sync option in-game that is enabled by default locks the entire game to 30 FPS, rather than the equivalent of your refresh rate.

While someone could simply turn off Veritical Sync, I would think that a majority of people who play on the PC version do not bother with doing so. The gameplay is much smoother and objectively superior to the PS3 and PS4 versions by doing so.

Ordinary people who are playing this game for the first time or less tech savvy would never know to turn off V-Sync because of this 30 FPS cap. If the in-game V-Sync properly worked and locked the game to their refresh rate instead, many more people on sufficient PCs would be able to see a vast difference in comparison to the console version.

The PS4 version is capped at a maximum of 60 FPS by default. This means that if someone was to play the PC version and did not know to turn off Vertical Sync, this would make it appear on the surface that the PC version is objectively inferior to the PS4 version. A simple disabling of Vertical Sync (and forced AA if so desired) would immediately make the PC version superior.