They really ought to go the old school AOL route. Once a toon is deleted, the name can only be released after a 6 month period. So that means if you were to delete your toon, you have that same amount of time to recover it. To prevent hoarding, tie the deleted names to purchased character slots on the account. You delete a character, you lose a slot.