FFXIV & DCUO PVE Content Mechanics Guide & Comparison

Discussion in 'Joker’s Funhouse (Off Topic)' started by TheLQ-DCUO, Sep 10, 2021.

1. TheLQ-DCUO Loyal Player

Hello all!

Recently I started playing Final Fantasy XIV and there are plenty of similarities in mechanics in group content between DC Universe Online and Final Fantasy XIV. From utilising line of sight to simply which way your character is facing at a given time, there are many examples in both games that have been used in alert and raid content.

This series of episodes will highlight these further, and hopefully will be helpful and useful to players of both games, in learning how to go about certain mechanics. Though the series will more lean towards FFXIV, there will be plenty of examples and footage that will apply to DC Universe Online content as well.

Hope you guys enjoy these videos, I will update this thread in the coming weeks.

Episode 1: Stack Markers (eg. Mark of Cain in Shattered Gotham (Elite)'s Mordru fight)

A stack marker is when a player has an icon above their head, indicating that they are to receive a particular attack. Group members must then gather around that player close to split the incoming damage, otherwise it will do huge damage and might KO player/s if there aren't enough to split the damage.

- this is the specific clip from DCUO that I use in the above video.

Episode 2: Which way your character is facing (eg. Medusa/gorgons in various Wonder Woman themed content)

Which way your character is facing can have a large impact to the effects of certain mechanics. In DCUO, this is shown most through Medusa and gorgons in various Wonder Woman themed content, including in Amazon Fury Part III, and False Idols (Elite) raid.

- this is the specific clip from DCUO that I use in the above video.

Episode 3: Line of sight mechanics (eg. The Visitor duo first boss, Forgemaster Hawkman in Into the Dark Multiverse (Elite) raid)