Iconic powers Dpsing

Discussion in 'War Room (Powers, Artifacts, & Builds)' started by zTrap, Jul 21, 2020.

1. zTrap New Player

Hey all, I've been playing dcuo since 2012 intermittently and returned to game 2 month ago after few years break. The game has never got a perfect balance(I think it is not possible in any game), but still, it was really fun to play it and every meta change was like fresh air. And 1 important thing is that this game was always about powers. Im not gonna talk about prec dpsing (which is really boring and similar with every powerset, because there already a lot of threads about it). I wanna talk about iconic powers\movement mods. From my point of view, this game is not about iconic powers or movement mods, I mean it is a great addition, but when I play my power, I want to have not 3, but 6 powerset skills on my loadout. Nowadays almost every power has robot sidekick, heat vision, and venom boost + superspeed skills in their loadout. This makes gameplay for every power pretty similar, I really love this game and hope someday this will change, just want to know, how many ppl think the same
  2. Lynx Committed Player

A lot of this comes down to artifacts it seems. Heat vision with the solar amplifier artifact is a game changer from what I've heard, and the main reason so many people use heat vision now (whereas before solar amplifier, it used to be a joke of an ability and rarely used).

Personally I wouldnt let it bother you so much. Unless you're min-maxing to try and fit in with the elitist punks that try to tell everyone how to play the game, the returns you'll see from using those iconic abilities is minimal. You can get by without them.
  3. DeitySupreme Steadfast Player

I mean. If someone else likes them why should it be changed just for those who want to cosplay?
  4. Pale Rage Dedicated Player

For my Rage character (melee) I use nothing but Rage powers, and fork out some serious damage.