Old Content, Source Marks and What Were You Thinking!

Discussion in 'Gotham City (General Gameplay)' started by Darth_Andrea, Jan 29, 2020.

1. Darth_Andrea Well-Known Player

I've been playing on and off for nearly 2 years. Much more of late. And I've come to the conclusion that the developers don't want players playing older content. It's the only conclusion I can come to given one fact. Once you pass a certain CR older content no longer gives Source Marks. And since Source Marks are required for so much of the game, from your lair to just getting gear or upgrading artifacts people have no incentive whatsoever to play that older content. As the RNG loot drops are far to random to be worth grinding unless you really want a specific drop or a style piece.

Which in the end makes no sense to me. Older content, left unplayed or unplayable just takes up code space in the game. The Developers should want that content active as much as the newer. As it stands right now there are so many people screaming in zones for people to queue for older duo's 4 and 8 man content because no one is playing it because they won't get even a single Source Mark for running it and they either have or don't want the loot drops from those queues.

I don't know what the devs were thinking, perhaps one will pop in this thread and explain. But either way I think it needs to be changed. Change the end of mission rewards to add back the Source Marks regardless of CR and that content becomes active again. Especially the more fun ones that people avoid because the rewards don't aline with their needs.

And in the current DCUO those needs are Source Marks.
    • Like x 5
  2. SkullGang Devoted Player

The CR tier, Source Marks and rewards systems need a revamp. There is much much stuff condensed together that needs to streamlined because that On Duty menu is full of so much bloat that im surprised the game has made it this far.
    • Like x 4
  3. Barry Allen Well-Known Player