Hard times for SONY

Discussion in 'Joker’s Funhouse (Off Topic)' started by TheBirdOfSteel, May 14, 2014.

1. TheBirdOfSteel Committed Player

Sony released their finacial figures and have lost $1.2 billion despite rising sales.

Apparently this is due to the restructuring goign on after selling off their PC business and no matter how good the PS4 sells , the lack of PSP/Vita and TV sales are causing the company to haemorrhage money rapidly.

So now they have execs taking 50% paycuts , they are selling off departments and even have SOE shutting down some MMOs (Not DCUO) all while expecting another loss of $487 million. :eek:

Im no business expert but its not looking good at the moment at all , however apparently after the next 12 months the money loss should stabilize and Sony can focus on gaining profit again.

Although if it doesnt Sony will have to sell off what it has less , including Playstation to another tech giant like Samsung.

It doesnt sound right at all to me, imagine , the Samsung Playstation 4. :confused:

Its bizarre seeing such a huge company like SONY taking such a hit but coming to think of it , nowadays theres not many SONY products id purchase other than the PS4 (which i did) and the Xperia Z2 smartphone. Would love a 4K TV but my God the prices are too high right now.

Sources:
    IGN
    BBC
    Gaurdian
  2. Deathmike Devoted Player

I don't really get this obsession with other people's money.
    Personally, I'm just concerned with my own finances. Sony can fend for themselves.

Deathmike out.
    • Like x 2
  3. Octantis New Player

Sony has so many things that they dump their money into that's it's hard to tell where the hit's coming from. They're a multinational country subject to probably more than a contries' tax laws as well, with the U.S. especially increasing taxes on businesses and wages (obviously not for the Japanese execs, but on their American branches, sure).