Developer Spotlight - Martin "Max" Theyer

Discussion in 'Official News Feedback' started by Mithril, Jul 30, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mithril Community Manager

[IMG]

Welcome Max! Please tell us a little about yourself! How did you get started in the games industry and tell us a little about the journey to Rogue Planet Games.
    I am a veteran of the video games industry officially working with Activision back in 1994, then shifting northwards to join up with Electronic Arts in 1995. I helped launch titles such as Knockout Kings, as my first time in Production after many years of being the Studio Operations Manager for all of EA prior.

Following the many various roles across the decades, I eventually landed with the team here at Rogue Planet Games, where I’m helping with the various scheduling and stand-up meetings with the team across our planned release schedule through the years ahead. In the background I help interface with our internal non-Production teams (Operations, Marketing, Legal, etc.) on mini-projects, while focusing mostly on the Release process; getting things to Live.

Can you give us a glimpse at what Project Management duties entailed for the recent _Integration update for PlanetSide 2?
    On a very basic level, the plan of attack followed this quick chart below:

[IMG]

Working with the team once the initial concept is scoped and locked on, (The NSO _Integration was firmly targeted and concepted before I arrived, incidentally, with occasional additions slipping in here and there as is always the nature of the work) my role is to be the objective tracker of the always moving product as it moves down and right through the process-- ensuring that all the functioning parts of the team effort are aligned, shored up, and assisted where possible. Kind of similar to how a Medic or Engineer in our game acts, or a good pilot be it a ground vehicle or transport aircraft.